SmoothieFresh off my 30 day water challenge – which by the way, I am continuing to follow with great results – I decided I needed to continue to push myself to change not only what I drink, but also what I eat.  For me, this is a promise I made to myself.  Each year, I “talk the talk” about how it’s important for me to get in shape and eat better.  And every year, I fail.  Not this time. Slowly but surely, I am changing what I hate about my eating habits, and it feels good to know that it’s not as complicated as I have tried to convince myself it would be.

This month, I decided to focus on the most important meal of the day: breakfast.

Right now, I eat whatever cold cereal I can find a good coupon scenario for, and I don’t pay attention to sugar content or nutritional facts.  I have heard on different medical (and health) shows that breakfast smoothies are the way to go.  I see this as a good challenge to reduce my intake of bad food and increase my intake of more fruits, vegetables and nuts.

So far during this challenge, one resource in particular has proven to be an invaluable tool:  Pinterest.  If you follow my blog, you have probably heard me rave about Pinterest for a variety of different things.  In my opinion, if you aren’t using it, you are missing out on a valuable forum for getting ideas for just about anything you can dream up.  If you aren’t sure about it, visit the main site and do some searches (without having to sign up).  I can almost guarantee you will be impressed with the amount of information you can find.

First “to do” item for this challenge:  Get a blender!  We had one before, but never used it – which should tell you something 🙂  I did some research and settled on this Oster 10-speed blender from Target.  It only set me back $17.99 and so far, it has passed with flying colors.  It shredded huge cubes of ice without even breaking a sweat!

Next, I took to Pinterest to search for breakfast smoothies and was quickly overwhelmed with the sheer volume of options out there.  I knew I wanted to keep my first foray into smoothies as simple and care-free as possible, so I settled on a recipe for a “quick Chiquita Banana Oatmeal Smoothie.” The ingredient list   was small and manageable, plus who doesn’t love bananas!?  The one downside is that the recipe said the sugar was 19 grams, which seemed a little high to me. Keep reading to see how I fixed that!

Now that we had an idea, Mom and I hopped in the car and headed for Target.  We found the blender – it was the last one on the shelf, which means it was clearly meant for me! – but as I walked through the store looking for the ingredients in the smoothie recipe, I suddenly felt confident that I could switch up the ingredients to make it more flavorful and also reduce the sugar.  Below is a list of the original ingredients, followed by my “twist” that reduced the sugar to 9 grams. From what I can tell, the original recipe’s 19 grams of sugar came from their choice of honey-flavored Greek yogurt, which I didn’t use.

So how was my first attempt?  PERFECT!  The smoothie turned out tasty, healthy and filling.  I drank it at 4PM – because I couldn’t wait til the morning to try it lol – and didn’t even FEEL hungry until well past 9PM.  But some ice cold water helped curb the cravings.

Try the recipe yourself, and let me know what you think!! 🙂

Original Ingredients

  • 2   whole Chiquita Bananas
  • 2   cups ice
  • 1/3   cup Yogurt – preferably Greek yogurt flavored with honey
  • 1/2   cup Cooked oatmeal
  • 1/3   cup Almonds

My ingredients (substitutions in blue)

  • 2 whole bananas
  • 2 cups ice
  • 1/2 cup cooked oats
  • 1 (6oz) carton of Archer Farms strawberry-banana yogurt
  • 1 (6oz) individual package of Emerald walnuts and almonds

Instructions

Pour all ingredients in blender pouring ice in last. Blend on high for 30 seconds or until smoothie thickens. Drink and enjoy!

