Blueberry Banana Peanut Butter SmoothieBecause of the sheer number of recipes I will be trying, I can’t post them all – instead I will post my favorites as I move through the 30 days. I have created a “board” on my Pinterest site called smoothies – very creative, I know.  Feel free to bookmark (or follow) it for a one-stop shop of all the smoothies I try during this challenge 🙂

Technically, I am on day 2 of this challenge, since it took me a little longer than expected.  Since my last post, the family and I went to the Beaverton Farmers Market, Trader Joe’s, Fred Meyer and Winco to stock up on some of the staples I would need for this challenge.  I stuck with fruits as a simple way to kick start this new endeavor and then added some of the commonly-used ingredients I have seen in many of the recipes online – frozen blueberries, fresh and frozen strawberries, fresh pineapple, vanilla-flavored soy yogurt, Oregon honey, all-natural peanut butter and bananas.

Tonight, we couldn’t figure out what sounded good for dinner, so I decided to hop online and search for some sort of smoothie with peanut butter in it, and I stumbled across this tasty little ditty – a Blueberry, Banana, Peanut Butter smoothie – on AllRecipes. I didn’t have ALL of the ingredients, so I made my own variation and it was awesome!

You should try this one and report back to let me know what you think!

Ingredients (substitutes in blue)

  • 1 tablespoon flax seed meal or wheat germ (didn’t have but want to buy!)
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1/2 cup plain vanilla soy yogurt
  • 1 cup 1% milk
