Golden Butter CornbreadFirst, I apologize to any of my followers who were genuinely upset that I have not been posting lately 🙂  I had a rough week at work, and I just needed some time to decompress – I’m sure EVERYONE can relate with that!

Ok, now time to get back to the food!

Since my first rice cooker challenge, I have been keeping a low profile around the house and really haven’t had a chance to cook much – until Monday night!  We decided to make some chili, because it’s simple and sounded good.

Usually, we buy the Marie Callender’s packages of cornbread to compliment the chili, because they are inexpensive, fast and tasty. That was BEFORE I came across this recipe from Aroma Housewares – they make, among other things, rice cookers –  for golden butter cornbread. I had never made my own cornbread using corn meal, so I was excited to try it out – and it worked PERFECTLY!

GOOD TO KNOW: Aroma has a GREAT website that is filled with TONS of recipes that can be narrowed down by the type of appliance.  They also have a Twitter account and I asked them a lot of questions and got great feedback and advice.  Not to mention, they regularly post ideas for their rice cooker recipes via Twitter, making it easy to get some ideas for things to try.

Below is the cornbread recipe, directly from the Aroma site.  I was QUITE impressed with this bread, and I see myself making it again!  Try it out and let me know what YOU think! Oh, and for a great, easy chili recipe, check out this previous post by yours truly 🙂

Yield
Serves 6

Ingredients
2 cups water
1 1/2 cups yellow cornmeal
1 cup flour
1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon baking powder
2 large eggs
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup low-fat milk
1/4 cup butter, melted

Pour 2 cups of water into the inner pot of the rice cooker and close the lid. Press the Steam/Cook button and bring the water to a boil in approximately 8 minutes. Coat a 2-quart baking dish that fits in the inner pot with nonstick cooking spray. In a medium bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs, sour cream and milk together. Add to the dry ingredients, stirring only until the dry ingredients are moist. Drizzle in the butter, stir slightly, and pour the batter into the prepared baking dish. Cover the dish with a piece of aluminum foil, but do not crimp the sides. Use a foil pan lifter to open the lid, using caution to avoid steam burns. Using a cooking mitt, place the foil lifter and baking dish into the inner pot. Close the lid and cook until the bread is dry on top, about 45 minutes. Using the foil pan lifter, carefully remove the bread to a wire rack to cool slightly. Cut into pieces and serve while warm.

