20130102-011644.jpg

If you’re bored with life & you don’t get up every morning with a burning desire to do things – you don’t have enough goals. – Lou Holtz

Life is short, and we are all excruciatingly aware lately with tragedy after tragedy occupying every newscast and magazine cover. So it becomes painfully obvious when tragedy strikes that we only have a limited amount of time on this planet.

As I enter a new year and become even older, I wanted to be different from all the people who make the same New Years resolutions to lose weight, have stronger relationships or even eat healthier – not that all of those aren’t great goals, because they certainly are. I decided to sit down and create a “bucket list” of things that I wanted to do before I…well…kick the bucket of course. Within minutes I realized that it wasn’t easy and I came to a haunting conclusion: I want to do everything before I die.

I can remember when I was still in school and we would do projects where we had to tell what we wanted to do when we got older. In middle school, I dreamt about being a bus driver and obsessed over cash registers – I won’t psychoanalyze those choices in this blog post, trust me we don’t have the time – and in high school I created a business plan for creating a cable television network – yes I’m aware I was an odd child, and we really don’t have time to focus on that right now!

My point is, I never really understood the question “what do you want to do?” And now that I’m 32 years old, I sit and wonder if I will ever do any of the major things I dreamt about doing. Or is it too late?

I have always wanted to visit every 1 of the 50 states before I die, just to experience what life is like for the local people who live there and to see what this incredible country has to offer.

I’ve always wanted to travel to Ireland and learn more about that part of my family’s heritage.

I’ve always wanted to trace my genealogy and learn about the amazing things my ancestors accomplished before THEY died.

I’ve always wanted to have a family of my own and be able to raise kids and get married to the love of my life – he hasn’t shown up, yet – and have it be recognized as just as important as a straight person’s relationship.

It’s all so overwhelming sometimes and many of my dreams take money (and lots of it) which I don’t have.

So I guess the moral of this post is this: life’s short, and you have to make due with what you have. You have to be thankful for the things that you ARE able to do in life, and you have to remember that dreaming can be a powerful replacement when all else fails.

Damn, I’m so wise.

