As I sit here on my couch on the 33rd Christmas Eve I’ve the pleasure of being on this earth to enjoy, I am thinking about a few things.

1. How come I didn’t watch A Christmas Story this year? There ain’t nothing wrong with that movie!

2. Why isn’t all of my family closer geographically? I’m not amused by the fact that we’re not able to enjoy the holidays – or any time of the year for that matter – as one huge family.

3. What’s with those people who put inflatable Santa and Jesus dolls outside their house but then they let them sink and deflate? That’s just not right. Little kids seeing Santa drunk and slumped over can mean a lot of future psychiatric bills.

4. And this is the most important question of all: why don’t we do the same good deeds that you hear about around the holidays every month? Why does this type of giving and surprises only happen in December???

You always hear people say “the world would be a better place if…” Well this is one of those “if” moments.

I challenge everyone reading this post to think of even the simplest way to give back – it doesn’t even have to cost any money at all or take a lot of work to do – and report back what unique things you’ve come up with.

I’d love to hear your ideas!

 

